SPINACH AND FETA PIE

Today I thought I would share one of my favourite recipes. Its from Jamie’s thirty minute meals, link here. I’ll be honest, these NEVER take me thirty minutes. I clearly dawdle but I can knock them out in under an hour.

My friend introduced me to this this pie and it is so delicious. It’s a perfect summery dish for when it starts warming up. See the link to the recipe for all the steps to make it.

A FEW TIPS

  • Consider using spinach from the frozen section, it tends to work out cheaper and in the pie you can’t tell the difference. This is especially useful if you can only get the fresh stuff in a few small bags, go frozen and reduce the wasted plastic.
  • Wilt the spinach and push out as much the water as you can. The eggs and lemon provide a lot of moisture. Once when I didn’t do this enough I had a soggy pie!
  • Don’t forget to heat the pie on the hob before putting it in the oven, this cooks the base to make it nice and crisp. Again, once I forgot to do this and had a soggy pie.
  • To save time and effort with the salad; combine sliced tomatoes and cucumber. Drizzle the lot in balsamic vinegar and olive oil and season to taste.

 

x M

 

Leave a Reply

